Kiki takes Montauk (or so she thinks)

View from the ever popular Sloppy Tuna--of course we fell asleep before we could go back for the late night partying #lame

My first trip to Montauk proved successful–its always fun hanging out with 40-year old divorcees when you are in your 20’s.  Kidding! I’ve been to the Hamptons in summer’s past, but I found the surf-focused, relaxed-vibe of Montauk super appealing. Besides the concentration of screaming children in Crocs during the week and the hipsters from BK on the weekend there was lots of male eye candy.

5 hours in car deserves some bubbly!

5 hours in car deserves some bubbly!

My friend and I stayed at Le Sole East which is very Montauk-y; hedge groves, bicycles, pool with lounge chairs and cocktail service, hammocks, no phones in the room or room service, although we totally embraced the low-key vibe once our NYC stress angst dissipated–its Montauk, not the Four Seasons.

We recommend the Sloppy Tuna for food and late night drinks if you are under 30 and Ditch Plains beach for surfing, sunning and the general anthropological assessment of hipsters.

The Juicy party at the Surf Lodge (courtesy of Guest of a Guest)

The Juicy party at the Surf Lodge (courtesy of Guest of a Guest)

I don't think I could forget the name of the Juicy Couture product with a drink like this ;)

I don’t think I could forget the name of the Juicy Couture product with a drink like this

To be totally ironic, we went to the Surf Lodge for dinner and happened upon a Juicy Couture Noir fragrance launch party I think I got too drunk to remember to get my free swag bag meh.

This is where we met the 40-year old “divorced” Dads and lots of younger men in picnic-blanket button-ups. We even made plans with some of them to learn how to surf the next day where I wore a wet suit and everything! I also drank (swallowed) tons of sea water and wiped out (I looked like a beaten wife walking around the next day with my bruises) but it was such an amazing experience!

It turned out that our hotel was hosting a Citizen Cope concert one evening at their Backyard resto and bar. I had no idea who Citizen Cope was–apparently I am out of the loop. Watching the concert it became clear that the dirty hippie smiling at me at the pool earlier that day was in fact the artist himself, Citizen Cope! I learned a valuable lesson that day—don’t blow off people who look poor and/or homeless. They could look that way for a specific reason, like being a talented recording artist, mainly.

View of the lake off of The Surf Lodge. Who goes on vacation to stay at a lake when the beach is down the street...really! I don't get it.

View of the lake off of the Surf Lodge. Who goes on vacation to stay at a lake when the beach is down the street? Really! I don’t get it.

And here is me with my crooked nose and JCrew bandeau top soaking up the sun!

Brown and browner

Brown and browner

How is your summer vacation(s) going? Where are you off to? I will definitely be back next year and will be sure to come for multiple weekends to soak up more sun, surf and style too.

Xo Kiki


IFB

(c) All original ideas, content and branding initiatives on Kiki Bon Mot™ are considered proprietary information and work. Original ideas, content and branding are the sole property of the founder and brand manager. Reposting or inferring any part of Kiki Bon Mot’s™ content, ideas or branding as your own original content is strictly prohibited. Permission must be granted for Kiki Bon Mot™ content to be used in any capacity.

Leave a comment